Mason Academic Advisor Network

The Mason Academic Advisor Network (MAAN) was formed in 2012 to help promote advisor collaboration, advisor development, and disseminate information to all undergraduate academic advisors in a timely fashion. In principle the Network includes all academic advisors at Mason, but MAAN is governed by a Steering Committee that represents all schools and colleges concerned with academic advising. We are committed to implementing ideas and programs to strengthen undergraduate advising at Mason.

MAAN’s Vision:

The MAAN aspires to create a culture of advising excellence at Mason that encourages development and collaboration amongst all of its advisors.

MAAN’s Mission:

The overall mission of the MAAN is to improve students’ academic advising experience by providing Mason undergraduate advisors with:

  • Campus wide advising resources
  • Opportunities for cross-communication and collaboration
  • Opportunities for development

By joining MAAN, you agree to be “in the advising loop.”  You will receive an invitation to join our listserv as well as the private MAAN website where you can access undergraduate advising information, learn about advising events on campus, and chat with other advisors.

Click to Join MAAN

If you have questions related to your membership status, please contact the membership manager, Jason King.

All other questions related to MAAN, please contact Lynn Wildman or one of the current MAAN Co-chairs.

“The way a team plays as a whole determines its success. You may have the greatest bunch of individual stars in the world, but if they don’t play together, the club won’t be worth a dime.”

~Babe Ruth


Jade Barricelli (CAART) -Summer 2012-January 2013

Liz Kalinowski Ohrt (CHSS) -Summer 2012-Summer 2013

Erin McSherry (GLOA) -January 2013-January 2014

Wayne Adams (CVPA) -Summer 2013-Summer 2014

Jon May (CAART) -January 2014-January 2015

Assad Khan (COS) -Summer 2014-Summer 2015

Ann Ludwick (SPGIA) -January 2015-January 2016

Melinda “Lynn” Wildman (MUSIC) -Summer 2015-Present

Jason King (CAART) – January 2016 – Present

Secretary: Smriti Kansal (ECE)

Treasurer: Wayne Adams (CVPA)

Steering Committee Members: Leah Blue, Assad Khan, Meggan C Ford, Stephanie Barnett, Sarah Kincaid, Wayne Adams, Troy Lowery, Brian K Gillette, Sara Montiel, Cheryl A Howe, Smriti K Kansal, Jason King, Mary Slone O’Neill, Stephanie A Zeher, Melinda “Lynn” Wildman, Lori Yi. MAAN Steering Committee Meeting Agendas and Minutes.

Advisor Mentor Program (AMP) Team: Stephanie Barnett and Jon May

Graduate Advising Support (GrAS) Team: Erin McSherry, Sara Montiel, and Mary Jackson

Learn Over Lunch (LOL) Committee Members: Committee Members: Lenore Butcher Kuch, Jason King, Erin McSherry, Erika Marquina. Co-Chairs: Wayne Adams & Assad Khan.

Mason Advisor Certificate (MAC) Committee Members: Wayne Adams, Heather D Anderson, Carrie D Grabo, Matthew Robert Green; Cheryl A Howe; Michael E Hurley; Jason King, Assad Khan, Erin McSherry, Jonathan A May, Sara Montiel, Jan D. Ward, Lori Ann Roth. Co Chairs: Elizabeth Kalinowski Ohrt & Smriti K Kansal.

Registration Awareness Week (RAW) Committee Members: Wayne Adams, Michael Galvin, Cheryl Howe, Jason King, Elizabeth Kalinowski Ohrt, Kristen Weaver, Troy Lowery

Social Committee: Krystal Dains, Michael Hurley, Elizabeth Kalinowski Ohrt, Jon May, Erika Marquina, Sara Montiel, Lisa Nolder, Brandon Quiles, Cathy Wright

Website Committee: Wayne Adams, Heather Anderson, Erin McSherry, Jason King